Lamkin Grips

| 46 Comments

Each year more and more features are packed into devices that are put out to help the golfer move their way around the golf course. Distance measuring devices are truly an invaluable tool that can help speed up play, as well as for players to be more efficient in their club selection and hone their abilities in course management. THP has reviewed countless devices and while most of them are good at what they are designed to do, a few units stand tall among the rest when combining features and user interface. The latest offering from Callaway is hoping to enter that list and move towards the top of a market with their newest offering.

Product Description
Callaway’s upro mx+ golf GPS device, new for 2012, will help golfers see more and know more this season.

The only golf GPS device with ProMode, the Callaway upro mx+ features actual aerial imagery and aerial video flyover of golf courses in a compact and easy to use device. With the most realistic view of each hole, golfers are also able to determine precise yardage to the target, green or hazard with the swipe of a finger yielding smarter decisions and more confident play.

Featuring next-generation software for ease of use, the upro mx+ also offers a full-color, multi-gesture touch screen; an omni-directional antenna to help maintain GPS lock even in adverse conditions; and no annual fees or subscriptions. Callaway’s uxploreTM website completes the golf GPS experience, helping golfers to manage their devices and upload, track and analyze scores and statistics for each round played, and even compare them against the online community.

Features
• Proprietary mapping process allows Callaway to map thousands of points on every golf hole on each course for more measurements than competing products.

• Preloaded with more than 25,000 courses from Callaway’s global database in Basic Mode and GoMode for out-of-the-box playability.

• ProMode offers actual aerial photography and video fly-overs providing a realistic view of each hole.

• AnyPoint Technology helps golfers plan their next shot, providing yardage to any target selected, as well as yardage remaining from their target to the green.

• Digital scorecard allows for the tracking of scores and basic golf stats like fairways, greens and putts during each round.

• uxplore.com allows golfers to download courses,preview course layouts, upload and track their scores, view their performance statistics, and analyze their game.

• Unlimited Pro Mode course downloads are available with no annual fees.

Battery Life
One of the biggest questions THP gets about GPS devices is whether or not the battery life will hold up. Callaway has the UPRO MX+ listed at 10-12 hours of battery life and some on our forums had listed that they were not getting that kind of time. Clearly, most battery life listed for devices is in optimal settings, but during the testing of this device, THP had no issue getting two full rounds of golf out of the full charge and still having some left over. The key to GPS units and battery life is the ability to get the full second round for days of 36 holes or for times when charging is forgotten after a single round. The UPRO MX+ did both without issues and not only did it play 36 holes without issue, it also finished another 9 holes the following day before showing any issues.

Accuracy
What good would a distance measuring device be if it was not giving out accurate measurements? During the THP review process, the device was compared to both another GPS unit as well as a laser rangefinder and on all accounts the distances stacked up well. Not only was the UPRO MX+ great at giving proper readings, it did so quickly and was actually faster to get to the number than both a stand alone GPS attached to the cart at the golf course and the IPhone GPS that was used as well for comparison. The unit has a very good user interface that allows the golfer to get distances to just about anything on the golf course and during our playing, it was quite accurate with the readings it gave to both greens as well as objects throughout the course.

User Interface & Responsiveness
This is a purely subjective aspect of the review and one that is hard to put into words. The UI [user interface] was quite liked by the golfers that got a chance to try this unit out during the review process. Easy to navigate and quick to respond in terms of gathering distances and moving from one section to the next. The touchscreen is very intuitive and combines easy to use instructions with a great looking screen and vibrant colors. The only issue that anybody seemed to have was the zooming in and out feature. Now let me preface this by saying that the feature worked as advertised and most had no problem with the interface here, but a couple of golfers struggled with the “swipe” that is needed to have the device zoom in and out and due to that had some frustration. For the most part, the UI and complete experience with this device was a joy, especially when comparing the unit to others on the market that share the same features and price point.

Features
The UPRO MX+ is loaded with features and the best part of each of the items listed above, is that they worked as advertised. The scorecard worked perfectly for us, moving around the hole worked extremely well too and we were able to find distances to just about any object or place on the course that was needed. The touch screen can have a slight learning curve when it comes to their AnyPoint Technology, but once you get used to it, the feature is a breeze to work with and one that did very well in our testing of the GPS. The Pro Mode of the GPS experience is one that is incredibly well done and executed even better. Hooking the device up to the computer was as easy as can be and downloading your favorite courses’ Pro Mode made the UPRO MX+ come to life with aerial photography and flyovers of each hole. There is no added cost for this feature and while you have to sync up to the computer to use it, once you have the course of choice on the GPS, it takes a good unit and makes it exceptional.

Overall
Accuracy, battery life and usability are all parts that make a distance measuring device succeed and the UPRO MX+ GPS does so quite well. Add in the form factor that was loved in its previous version and still the same here and you have a winner on your hands. Callaway has brought to market a GPS that has all the features necessary to make a great unit to enjoy for years to come. With a retail price of $249, THP believes that with the feature packed unit, the MX+ is a very solid offering. Just like any device in this class, THP strongly recommends being able to give it a test drive at a store and make sure you like the user interface before purchasing. For more information on this or any other Callaway Golf product, check out their website at www.CallawayGolf.com.

Till Next Time

Josh B.

Did you like this? Share it:

Category: Accessories, Equipment, Headlines & News

About the Author ()

Josh is the Publisher of The Hackers Paradise and co-founder of THP Media with his wife Morgan Babbitt. Together they share a passion for golf, and they travel the country along with their two dogs in the THP Tour Van bringing their love and knowledge of the game to golfers everywhere.

Comments (46)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

Sites That Link to this Post

  1. golf gps systems | GPS?? | June 3, 2013
  1. INgolfer says:

    Great review JB, I am in need of a new GPS or rangefinder and this is one I’ve been keeping my eye on. Thanks for all the great info.

  2. Cookie says:

    Solid review on this device JB! I had a few questions regarding exactly what was installed on the device out of the box and they were addressed very quickly in your review.

    I had the chance to see this in action in Austin and was quite impressed with the fly over video that I saw but that was my only experience with it.

    It sounds like a very solid offering for the price point, also glad to hear that the previous issues that they had appear to have been resolved.

  3. TripleBogieTim says:

    Nice write up Josh, I have had no issues with mine since the last software update, very easy to use and I have had no battery issues at all. I highly recommend it

  4. Ryan H says:

    This sounds pretty dang good from what I’m reading. The price isn’t too bad either. I thought that the features looked great in print, but was worried that they wouldn’t hold up to the hype. Glad that you could give us a good summary of what the MX+ has to offer.

  5. DawgDaddy says:

    Sounds to me like UPRO is a top of the line GPS, I would think anyone considering purshasing a GPS would have to give this unit a long, hard look.

  6. InHartWeTrust says:

    Very nice review and write up, Josh. It looks to be a pretty solid product at a reasonable price, I might have to give one a look.

  7. War Eagle says:

    Excellent review, this device looks absolutely amazing. Really want to check one of these out in the store and play around with it. Thanks for the info!

  8. Jjmorris9 says:

    This is definitely something I would be interested in based off your reviews. Thanks for the info this seems way more convenient and user friendly than a phone app.

  9. Khaot1c says:

    I’m on the lookout for a new GPS. In fact, course selection is the only reason I keep my SkyCaddie. I have the SGX and while I have no compliant about battery life, it feels very sluggish moving between screens and I’m not a real fan of the zoom feature. Sure, the subscription fee’s are a heartburn to come folks, but it is what it is.

  10. TheDue says:

    By now I’m sure Callaway has thing well in hand with their Upro line and this will be a fine product with solid performance and second to none customer support. My early Upro adventure was very much a disaster as Callaway had just aquired the company. I will wait to see how these pan out, but Callaway is a solid company and should have these fully ready for the market by now.

  11. yorkem says:

    Really great, and thorough review Josh. This sounds like it could be one of the best on the market.

  12. Awesome review, I played a few rounds with this device prior to reading this review and it’s spot on. It makes me realize that this is a worthy source for honest and complete product reviews. I believe this product is so feature rich that it takes some time to discover all that it offers. There are even multiple ways to go about a similar task. The zoom navigation comes in handy but as mentioned can be a little tricky at times. Adjusting the zoom level can also be achieved by double tapping an area of the map wich doubles the zoom level focusing on the area tapped on. If you double tap again prior to panning the image will return to the previous zoom level. But the simplest way to adjust the zoom level is by taking advantage of the smart view feature. Press the big button on the face of the device and the zoom will cycle through pre-determined zoom levels based on your location.

  13. Little Charlie says:

    Excellent Review! I have no issues with mine. I love it. Yes the zoom does take a little getting used to. I also read on the Callaway website that they are working very hard on shot tracking and will reintroduce this feature.

  14. bogey_russ says:

    great review
    i still have my upro mx and use it daily
    if the mx+ is an improved version then it should be a great device for anyone
    love mine

  15. tnolan says:

    lots of great info JB. i’m fairly certain that my next big golf purchase will be one of these, and something about the Callaway uPro’s have always stood out to me.
    i actually played a course last night with a GPS unit in the cart and my gosh, what an amazing tool to have as a player!

  16. ghsace says:

    Excellent review and write up JB. I will definitely check this out the next time I am in the market for a gps device as I am not currently thrilled with the one that I have.

  17. Chunkylover77 says:

    Man this sounds like a device that I would like. I have a Skycaddie right now and it has been a bit buggy and it’s not fun having to pay to use it. I might have to look at switching. Great review JB!

  18. Buckjob says:

    nice review JB, im tempted to get a GPS just for fun but i really still like my bushnell hybrid. but its nice when you don’t know the course layout so i might still get one. def keep this in mind.

  19. tadashi70 says:

    Good review JB, sounds like a solid offering from Callaway.

  20. hanks says:

    Great review JB! It sounds like this device has great battery life and is accurate as well. Another solid offering from Callaway!

  21. Bamaboy1993 says:

    Do not buy this piece of crap. Hard to use,no shot tracking capabilities,touch screen sometimes does not sense a “touch”, screen is not bright in sunlight, the belt holster is the worst device ever,the website will not track your handicap…need I say more.

  22. Jimmy says:

    I love this unit. It is small sufficient to fit in my pocket and not be bulky, yet large decent that the screen put in at home to read. I accomplish wish the touch display screen was a little easier to use for my big fingers though. The accuracy in the gps is dead in. It has definitely improved my club selection by providing me accurate distances in order to bunkers and pins. The aerial flyover combined while using actual aerial images is usually an awesome touch. There are several features to track inside the score card (gir, fir, puts, etc.) which rocks !. The computer sync is fantastic. Especially since they frozen the Apple incompatibility. Total a great product with a few minor hiccups. All my local freinds are jealous of the item. I look forward in order to future features!

  23. Don O'Connell says:

    the calloway upro product is absolute shit.

    if you really want to waste hours trying to donwload a course, then golf with no gps, then argue with these idiots on monday about why their software is shit, then this is the perfect device for you.

    i have spent > 8 hours over the last 2 years trying to download coarses into the piece of shit upro. it is a giant waste of time. In the end, it gets done, but, giant waste of time. For sure, they will be out of business soon.

  24. Johnny Johnston says:

    Found out that this unit and prior models have software issues. Purchased mine and could not sync, which you need to be able to do to download the good features. Aparently there is a software upgrade out there to fix this, but no release date. Battery lasted about 5 hours. Battery/sync connector damaged in unit which has rendered it useless. Purchased new in box, and got 1 round out of it. Waiting on a reply from Callaway.
    Recommend that you purchase another brand, this unit is not worth the risk.

  25. Hello I think tomtom are great. However try hard to look over a review first.

  26. Jeff says:

    Nothing but problems with the mx+. Courses would not download, the cord would not connect to the device without a surgeons’ help. and the touch scrolling simply would not work. The worst piece of electronics since my old MG. Sent it back last week, and don’t miss it.

  27. Dave T says:

    I have no real issues with the device so far except for battery life. Used it for one full round, and used the sleep feature when I was not using it directly. Played my second round today, battery indicator showed more than fifty percent, got five holes nd it shut down,
    You’ll have o charge after every round

  28. Marine 47 says:

    I am on my second UPro MX+ and it still won’t synch. I have been on the phone with three technicians for a total of 3 hours. They sent me the second device and although it “sync” my courses to my account on the website, it won’t sync to the device. Don’t waste your money or frustration.

  29. Tom Secretary says:

    This GPS is a piece of junk. Have had several issues with it and have had no response (e-mail) from technical support after sending 2 e-mails, one in early Sept. and another on 10/30/12. So much for auto response that said I would get a response in 2-3 days. Terrible product!!! Save your money!!!

  30. Dr K Thomas says:

    I like to know the price for Callaway UPRO MX+ Golf GPs – 2012 rdition with preloaded courses.

  31. R Walker says:

    I liked the Callaway product well enough, but since my home course was redesigned, I have been waiting 13 months for them to update their download for the course. Tech Support says they are still waiting for overhead imagery to be updated (after 13 months !!). Their system clearly doesn’t work; buy another brand instead of Callaway.

  32. Rick says:

    Please answer: How do i input a score for a hole if i forgot to input it at the course? I’m having a really had time trying to figure it out.

  33. Mike Loquercio says:

    I want to buy the Callaway MX+ but I am reading such mixed reviews. Two people I know think it’s great but I’ve been reading nothing but bad review after bad review and it is causing me to pause. I really want to get the Upro MX+ with the all the features it claims to have but if the problems I’m reading about are true, I’ll kick myself. I haven’t read any/many positive reviews on this product.
    Not sure what I’ll do

  34. Daniel says:

    I just opened the box yesterday and had being trying n trying for 2 days. The Upro MX+ is not able to sync. Unable to register, unable to sync, unable to download ….. Reloaded the Upro Sync software again n again, use difference pc. Same results. Kind of disappointed with Callaway, such a big name but selling junk

  35. Larry says:

    I’ve had the Upro mx (upgraded to the mx+ via software) for a year now. IF you are trying to sync with a Windows 8 pc…forget it. Their software as of yet is completely incompatible with Win 8. Grrrr…

    That said, my MX+ opinion

    Pro’s:
    Hardware
    Pro Mode Courses
    Size (screen equal to my SG5, unit is half the bulk. VERY pocket-friendly)
    Score keeping is a breeze
    Web site. Info from rounds really shows where you need to practice.

    Con’s:
    Sync Software… Sync software….Sync software!!!

    Syncing has always been finicky…but I have to say that the tech support has always been available and worked me thru every issue…but it really ONLY comes into play getting Pro Made Courses downloaded and scores off the device. Once you get the Pro Mode courses you want to play on your device….it has worked GREAT! All courses are available immediately in GO Mode or simple Front-Middle-Back distance.

    I’ve seen these selling as refurb’s on eBay as low as $59….at that price they are a no brainer!

  36. DaveT says:

    I have had teh device for over a year, I love the features and have no issues with the operation.
    The main issue is battery life,
    I bought the extended battery last year when the original battery would not last 2 rounds, the extended life battery is no better,
    You need to charge this after every round.

  37. Spencer says:

    Instructions for Windows 8(64b) Install of the uProSync Software.
    ***I am not responsible for any damage you may cause to your computer in any way. This method worked for me so i’m just passing it on.***

    1. Download the uPro Sync Software and save it to your Desktop. Close all other running programs as you’ll be restarting your PC shortly.
    2. Move your mouse to the bottom right hand corner, a menu will appear. Click Settings.
    3. At the bottom of the Settings screen, click Change PC Settings.
    4. The full screen Settings window will appear. Click General on the left hand side. Use the scroll bar on the right to the bottom. Under Advanced Options, select Restart Now.
    5. A blue screen appears, click Troubleshoot.
    6. Under Troubleshoot, click Advanced Options.
    7. Under Advanced Options, click Startup Settings.
    8. Click the Restart button that appears. Your computer will restart.
    9. As the computer starts up, it stops on a blue screen named Startup Settings. Hit the F7 key to Disable Driver Signature Enforcement.
    10. Windows 8 will continue to load. Login to your computer.
    11. The Start screen appears, click the Desktop icon on the bottom left.
    12. Right-click on the uPro Installer and select Run as Administrator 13. Click Yes on the User Account Control prompt.
    14. Follow the normal install instructions for the uPro Sync Installer…..

    If it worked. Congratulations! I hope you’re as happy as was when I got it to work.

  38. Gabe Murray says:

    I purchased the older uPro model, had problems to sync. Got great tech support and they got me up and running. The sync function is tricky but the challenge is worth the effort because this is a very accurate unit. I’m sure that most golf gps’s have their little problems, nothing is perfect. I woul like to purchase the Mx + model to get the Promode option free.

  39. barry says:

    Spencer.
    It worked for my win 8 64 bit system. The sync on the GPS works fine and I have been able to register and download.
    Great thanks
    Barry

  40. Iain says:

    Spencer.
    Finally some advice that actually worked for my Windows 8 system. The sync on the GPS now works fine and has updated software. You`re the man!

    Thanks
    Iain

  41. Jack says:

    looks like the upro mx plus has been discontinued. What would be your next best gps recommendation Josh? I’m ready to upgrade from my trusty Garmin GPS-8

  42. Chris says:

    I got one just a couple weeks ago from Amazon for $53 shipped to my door. It’s an awesome unit for that kind of money, very accurate, great feature set. The instructions above got me online with Win8, many thanks!

  43. Dustin says:

    I had the original upro since around 2010 or whatever yr it came out and never had one issue with it. I just sold it to a friend for $50 and bought the new mx+ a couple days ago. Where did you get the information they discontinued it? I guess they are still supporting the device. I spoke to them yesterday.
    I had a little issue getting it to sync, but once I got the right drivers, it synced right up and I downloaded about 20 pro mode courses in about 10 minutes. It is ready to go. I wish it had shot tracking like my old upro, but I like the touch screen. I was going to go with Skycaddie, but for $77 on amazon, I felt like Callaway was worth a shot.

  44. dennis nord says:

    Thanks for the thorough review. I play in some small towns on vacation…is it possible ti identify if they are among the courses downloaded?
    Dennis

  45. Bob Zee says:

    Spencer,
    went through the routine you suggested, and the drivers loaded as unsigned. when I restarted the PC Upro failed to install, so I am wondering if I have corrupt SW.
    If anyone has the installation SW for the MX available, could you please contact me, and possibly send it to me?
    Zeeboy47 at yahoo.com

    Regards,
    Zee

Leave a Reply