OEM Marketing: Confused

Sean

Earthbound Extraterrestrial
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
A general question for you folks. We see a ton of ads on TV featuring this and that professional golfer playing this and that set of irons/driver/golf ball, etc. I don't know about you, but I tune those ads out because I'm not a professional golfer.

What Martin Kaymer, Luke Donald, KJ Choi, etc., play has no impact on what I purchase because I don't have their swings or their talent. So my question is, why do OEMs continue to market their equipment that way? Or, am I just an anomaly?

A general question for you folks. We see a ton of ads on TV featuring this and that professional golfer playing this and that set of irons/driver/golf ball, etc. I don't know about you, but I tune those ads out because I'm not a professional golfer.

What Martin Kaymer, Luke Donald, KJ Choi, etc., play has no impact on what I purchase because I don't have their swings or their talent. So my question is, why do OEMs continue to market their equipment that way? Or, am I just an anomaly?

I used to play every club that Freddie Couples played. When he switched, I switched. There are idiots who do that out there.

Because the average golfer will buy what the pro plays because they think it will make them better. Then they join THP and realize to play something fitted to them - not someone on TV.

I would say that you are the anomaly. Kind of the same thing with shoes and gloves and all that with other sports. People want to wear what the pros wear and play what they play.

If you dont think that pros playing what they play has any role on the marketplace....See TaylorMade and Titleist ads with their slogans "Most used on Tour". Then look at the direct correlation between that and what consumers buy.