Swing plane is way inside

INgolfer

Internet Golfer
Reaction score
Handicap
pending
I am looking for a drill I can use to make sure I stay on plane through the backswing. After analyzing my swing a little bit I noticed I bring the club back too far inside. I try to manipulate it to make sure it is straight back at 3 o'clock, but then by the time I get to the top of my back swing and transition to the downswing then it just drops back inside and I still have the same in-to-out swing which continues to cause 20-30 yard pushes to the right. There is no curve to the ball, just a straight push. PLEASE HELP!

I'm no pro, but if your are sure that is what is going on try this. put a second ball 2 inches in front and 2 inches further from you. or said another way: 45* up and left of your current ball position. Try to no hit the second ball.

Hey man, this is the AskThePro section, please wait until they have posted before writing anything.

You may have said the key words: "I try to manipulate it." It shouldn't feel like a manipulation, just a turning around a still (and tilted) axis.

Here are a few checkpoints/drills:

1. Careful you aren't too tilted to the right from the waist up with the irons- your left ear should be roughly even with the back of the ball. Titling much more than this can be one cause of a sweeping inside move.
2. A flat and inside takeaway can be from leveling the shoulders out too soon. Imagine there is a laser pointing out of your shirt buttons- note where that would hit the ground? Your goal on the way back is to get the left shoulder roughly pointing to that spot at the top of your backswing.