FW/Hybrid Distances

Vegan702

Reaction score
Handicap
Exploding
If you have a 19 degree FW and a 19 degree Hybrid, would the distances be equal? I would think the FW would be longer as usually the shafts on FW are longer than hybrids, I assume at least. I've never had the same lofts on a FW or Hybrid, so I have no experience with this. Thinking of changing up my bag a little in the FW and Hybrid area. I currently game a strong R9 3w at 13 degrees and a R9 5w and just added a 24 degree hybrid. I rarely use the 5w anymore, so I was thinking of replacing that with a hybrid of say 17 or 21 degrees as I think it would get more use in the rough where I don't hit my 5w well.

I would agree. I am in a similar spot. I hit my 3hybrid well out of the rough but not well off the tee. Thinking about getting a 5 wood and putting the 3 hybrid in timeout. But gap wise that would be a good move I would assume.

I have an Adams Super Hybrid, 17 degrees, that can really get out there. Distance is very close to my current 18 degree 5W. I'm actually less consistent with the hybrid.

I carry a 16 degree 3 wood and I own a 16 degree hybrid. I'm longer with the wood but the hybrid may be slightly more accurate. For me it boils down to the fact that when I need to use a club with that loft, I normally have 200+ yards so I carry the wood. I can recover well enough from that distance if I miss a little with my short game.

If I were to play a course with super long par 5's, I might switch to the hybrid as I more than likely can not reach the green in two and I will be playing to a number lay up wise. At my home course, the par 5's are in reach for me in two with a good drive, but I need the distance of the wood.