Boccieri Heavy Q2-M Putter Review

Golf 'N Gator

Formally HoosierGolfer
Reaction score
Handicap
This past week I picked up a new Boccieri Heavy Q2-M putter. I know these putter are not new to the market, but I wanted to share my thoughts none the less.

For about as long as I can remember, I have been gaming one or two different old Ping manganese bronze Anser putters. Both of my gamers weigh in the 315/320 gram range. Back when I started playing this head weight was the standard and I have been slow to embrace anything heavier. I have never been a great putter but distance control was always one thing I have been good at and without some measure of distance control, you have little chance of making most putts or at least, leaving yourself a short second putt.

As I have been studying the physics & innovation of the backweighting of clubs designed and built by Boccieri Golf as well as being involved in the testing/review of the Heavy Driver, I thought I would embrace the heavier weight putters that seem to dominate the current putter market today.

Given my ability to be a good lag putter with my current lighter weight putters, I was really scared to try anything new, but with the backweighting of the Boccieri line, I thought now would be a great time to give one a try. If not for the backweighting, I doubt I would have picked one up.

The Anser plumbers neck style is my putter style of choice and because of some reservations about going heavier, I decided to just really test the waters a little by going with the mid weight Q2-M Heavy Putter. Here is spec page of the putter; http://www.boccierigolf.com/heavy-putter/mid-weight/q2-m/

When I first picked up the putter, my first thought was WOW! How in the world will I ever control this putter. It feels very heavy in my hands, much more than anything I have ever owned. The headweight is 400 grams with a 200 gram butt shaft weight with the balance point much higher than my current old Ping.