Follow along with a complete Newbie as I try to learn this game.

SeaNile

Reaction score
Handicap
Thought it would be interesting to document my experience as a complete newbie to the game of golf. Not going to sugar coat things or hide from the truth during this and my decision making process. So here we go...intro might get a bit lengthy.

Just turning 40 and trying to figure out a new hobby I have decided to turn to the game of golf. Figure it'll be a great choice, walking will provide a bit of exercise, it can be a social game and who doesn't like being outside surrounded by the beauty of nature. Growing up I was never exposed to golf and often made fun of it because it wasn't a real sport like basketball, baseball and football which is all I played. It took till I was 38 before I met a group of friends who regularly golf and they kind of helped push me in the direction of picking up golf as a new hobby/sport. Add the possibility of golfing with my two boys (4&8) and I am ready for golf.

Briefly here is where I am to date. I've got about 5-6 rounds under my belt and maybe 12 trips to the range. No lessons or instruction other than a few "tips" from the guys I played with. I'm here to tell you it's not practice makes perfect but rather perfect practice makes perfect. Going to the range with no instructions hasn't helped me one bit. Bought a set of Adams A12 irons (4&5 hybrid) and was given a driver, 3W and putter.