Swine Flu Vaccine

• Yes

Votes: 5 13.9%
  • No

Votes: 26 72.2%
  • Haven't decided/Don't know

Votes: 5 13.9%

• Total voters
Listening to NPR this morning, I learned the nasal vaccine actually has live virus in it, but weakened. The injectible virus will be dead virus. Think I'll wait for the injectible if I need to get it.

Yep. I haven't heard a good reason why I shouldn't.

You didn't get the flu because of you got a flu shot. It's not a live vaccine, so it's not possible. Most people don't even have the flu when they say they have the flu. You know because they are back up and around too quick. I'm not saying you didn't have the flu, but it was probably because they guessed the wrong strain.

(I'm not a doctor, but I did stay at a Holiday In Express last night!)

Oh no i definitely had the flu. I was working at a doctors office at the time and everyone on staff had to get the flu shot. They told us there was a chance we would actually get the flu from it but it was rare. Sure enough I got the flu the doctor I worked for confirmed it.

Oh no i definitely had the flu. I was working at a doctors office at the time and everyone on staff had to get the flu shot. They told us there was a chance we would actually get the flu from it but it was rare. Sure enough I got the flu the doctor I worked for confirmed it.

I don't doubt that you had the flu, but I question whether or not you were infected by the shot or had already been infected, just not exhibiting symptoms before you got the shot. Dead virus, which is what is in flu shots, just cannot give you the flu.

Years ago, they used a weakened virus, but I would suspect that you are not old enough to have had one of those vaccines.

From the CDC:

http://www.cdc.gov/FLU/protect/keyfacts.htm

Vaccine Side Effects (What to Expect)
Different side effects can be associated with the flu shot and LAIV.