I Believe I May Have Create a Monster

Acuna

Reaction score
Handicap
long irons
I started playing golf back in May and have really enjoyed the game; I am thoroughly addicted. This past Sunday was my anniversary, and my wife suggested that I get her a putter (we have been talking about golf being something that we can do together). She has never played other than putt-putt as a child. We go to Golfsmith and she finds a used putter and starts drilling putts up to seven or eight feet away. She doesn't want to quit, she's having a blast, I am wrangling a four year old and a six month old, but enjoying seeing her get excited. She decides she also wants a sand wedge. The next day we are going for our walk on the course with the kids (it's closed on Monday) and she wants to bring both clubs so she can pitch and putt around the greens we pass. I show her a few basic things and she actually does pretty well. Little 40 yard sand shots that are straight and in the air. She is happy and tells me she is having fun. Today she tells me that she has made arrangements to borrow a set of clubs and that instead of going to dinner this coming Friday to celebrate our anniversary, she wants to get a tee time for us to play nine holes and then go to a low key dinner. Tee time has been booked.

She is freaking hooked (Like I knew she would be, she is very competitive by nature).

I'll report back on how the round goes on Friday.

Congrats! Only problem you have now is that your golf budget just doubled!

Congrats! Only problem you have now is that your golf budget just doubled!

Yes, yes it did. Good thing I get unlimited rounds at the home course!

Congrats Acuna, I wish I could get my wife interested in golf.

I hope she has fun, truly. She is NOT athletic and I have been trying to tell her you do not need to be athletic to play this game. If she has a small bit of success and enjoys herself I think she will keep after it.

That's awesome man! Let us know how the round goes!