Project X vs Dynamic Gold Iron Shafts

GrantD

Formerly Known as DMB012
Reaction score
Handicap
I bought a set of R9 irons in May 2010. (This was pre-THP) I was setup with a regular shaft on these and told to come back later for my fitting. After playing them for the past 5 months I realized that I need a stiffer shaft. I even tried a stiff shafted R9 at the driving range today and my dispersion was very minimal. My swing speed has increased since I started playing more since May. I now have a swing speed with my driver at 105. I called to talk to GG about this today and they told me they would replace the shafts. They said they would not charge me for the labor, but just for the shafts. They gave me the option of going with Project X or Dynamic Gold. I am going to go with a fitting with them, but wanted to see what everybody's thoughts were on each type of shaft.

Both are excellent shafts. THey do have a different feel and slightly different ball flight for me. I found the DG's slightly lower launching for me than that of the PX, but enjoy both of them quite a bit.

Ask them to let you hit the "Shaft Optimizer". Its a wonderful invention!

Both are excellent shafts. THey do have a different feel and slightly different ball flight for me. I found the DG's slightly lower launching for me than that of the PX, but enjoy both of them quite a bit.

Which one creates more backspin?

I find that PX spins slightly less than that of DG. But it is pretty close.

Thanks for the advice.

Never played PX, but i have never had problems with my DG, except they are pretty low launching for me, but that may just be me.

both are great shafts, and testing both will ultimately give you the answer but it's hard for me not to go with stepless.

Not to threadjack but whats the difference between DG and DG Tour Issue shafts?

Ask them to let you hit the "Shaft Optimizer". Its a wonderful invention!