Official Rant of the Day Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jeez it sound's like you guys have a truckload to pay in student loans.. I guess that's true because school costs a truck load more in the states.

Dent, University isn't for everyone mate. I know in Canada and espcially out west everyone is told go to uni, go to uni by really, it's not suited to everyone. Don't go and do something you don't like just because it's the standard practice. Also, don't worry about your degrees in and the field your in. I have a degree in Medical ethics, another in Criminialistics and Logistics but I work in the IT field as a project manager. What you're degree is in doesn't lock you into a career. I have a friend with his masters in mechanical engineering who drives a cab because he finds it more enjoyable then sitting at a drafting table all day.

Long story short
A: You don't have to go to Uni, there are plenty of other options out there for you

B: If you do go, don't try to pigeon hole yourself by the degree you get. As one of my favorite professors constantly said "We're not giving you any knowledge you couldn't get on your own. We're just training you to think in a different method that *might* help you in the future"

C: If you're bored, get a job. I wouldn't recommend what I did to anyone but working on two degrees with a full time job means I was never bored for 3 years and came out with no student loan debt to pay back.

Whatever you decide mate I wish you much luck and lots of success!