GolfTEC swing evaluation

Jeanthemachine

Earl of Limerick
Reaction score
Handicap
GHIN 7.7
In another thread I mentioned, about a week ago, that I had a ""Groupon" for a swing evaluation at GolfTEC in Tampa. Well, today I took advantage of the offer and all I can say is ""O_M_G"

Absolutely the best day of golf since my last hole in one.

I have been playing for (ahem) several years and have had some success at the recreational level. My GHIN has been as low as 4.2 and I have broken par on several occasions. This is just to let you know my starting point.

Lately I have been losing distance on all shots and have been blaming it on age and inflexibility. Having the "Groupon" encouraged me to go on a fact-finding mission that I expected to result in a "your old...get over it" diagnosis.

Not so.

After an intro to the process and the equipment, which was enjoyable to me on its own, and a few warm up swings with real balls and my own club, I was hooked up to the equipment and asked to hit a few balls, letting Derek know when I thought I had made a decent pass.

Then the moment of truth.

I thought I had a good set up and a pretty "on plane" swing: NOT SO, GRASSHOPPER.

WOW, a light came on. Actually my head-on view was not too bad; down-the-line I looked more like a field hockey player than a golfer. Derek put up a split screen with me on one side and Ernie Els on the other. You can guess who had the better set up and swing.

We compared my "numbers" (shoulder/hip/tilt/shaft lean angles) to those of the average pro. While some of them were OK several were way out of whack. We discussed which of the numbers were the most critical for me at this time and Derek mad a suggestion - bend your knees. Well, of course, I thought this was simplistic and something I already did but when I did it and reviewed the results on the screen, holy cow, I actually looked (almost) like a golfer.