How to control Anger/Blow-ups

I'm not remotely good enough to justify getting upset on the course. When I screw up (quite often) it tends to make me laugh... especially at myself.

Buy him a book, like Zen Golf, or Golf Is Not A Game Of Perfect. Reading those will help him think rationally

I was about to make this suggestion too...you beat me to it.

I recently got "golf is not a game of perfect" on audio book. I just have it on my iphone and stick the headphones on while practicing....and then found when I go out on the course I can hear the thoughts/philosophys of the author buzzing through my brain during the round. I had started to get a little frustrated for a few weeks that I wasn't improving at the same rate...this book gave me some real good thoughts which allowed me to relax about my golf, enjoy it more, and actually play better golf!

I've come to realize I'm not a pro and don't get to practice/play as much as I used too. When bad shots come or bad day I'll let the 4 letter words fly and then move on to the next shot. Curse the ball for all its worth and just keep on going. If it something that happening over and over again I might bury a club past the hosel or send the wedge at the golfcart as high rate of speed but that hasn't happened in several years. Or it could just be time to get a new club.

Usually its not anger or blowup that ruins a round for me. It's the negative swing thoughts or getting myself in a bad mood that will ruin it. I make myself become disappointed and down and that round goes right down the crapper. I wish I could have a few rounds back where playing a really nice course and couldn't even enjoy it.

I quit throwing and slamming clubs because I've come to realize how bad that hurts resale value. If its a club I really hate, I take extra good care of it until I get photos of it and have it sold.