Why can't I just keep doing what works?

bumpnrun

Reaction score
Handicap
I am not a feel player. I started playing a few years ago and although people tell me I have a nice swing, nothing about it feels like it happens naturally.

It seems like I go through this endless cycle of, working hard and starting to play well when I read a "tip" in a Golf Magazine or see something on TV and my swing is completely shot. It is as if a swing change happens on a subconscious level and takes weeks to undo.

Does this happen to anybody else? How do you stop it?

I am much more of a feel player myself and I don't read tips or watch instructional shows. I like to simplify things, it's what works for me though. I think that if you are standing over a golf ball and you have a bunch of stuff running through your head, you're doomed. I like the mantra, KISS (keep it simple stupid)

As a person who suffered from Golf Digest's tips from the pros section, go get a lesson and practice. Practice. Don't just go to the range and launch driver after driver after driver 100 times. Take your time and switch clubs, take a breather between balls. And stop over thinking.

First off, reading tips from golf digest will mess with you :) I just look at the pictures now :D I have my days where I'm spot on with my swing, and yesterday, for example, I just couldn't hit the ball if my life depended on it and I had such an AMAZING . Do you take lessons? I rely mainly on my instructor and having lessons to work on my swing. I don't bother with tips people give me or tips in magazines.

First off, reading tips from golf digest will mess with you :) I just look at the pictures now :D I have my days where I'm spot on with my swing, and yesterday, for example, I just couldn't hit the ball if my life depended on it and I had such an AMAZING . Do you take lessons? I rely mainly on my instructor and having lessons to work on my swing. I don't bother with tips people give me or tips in magazines.