Metal spikes and a PGA tiff or two

Like Esox my course has shoe brushes on every ball washer on every hole. With the wet conditions here if they didn't you would have grass filled shoes by the third hole.

Yeah, without them, at my course you'd start playing at 5' 10" and finish at 6' 2".

Kevin

One part of the equation that was mentioned to me that I did forget to post about is why many in the industry wanted a switch. Repeat business in golfers replacing soft spikes. Metal spikes were rarely replaced and the soft spike business is a HUGE one based on revenue and marketshare numbers.

I have to use an Epoch tee to clean mine. I can trash the floor board of a golf cart with the stuff I dig out of my soft spikes. I've actually never worn golf shoes with metal spikes. I can see how it would be beneficial though.

when i first started playing in middle school my first shoes were spikes (late 80's). When i graduated high school we had to buy soft spikes and swap em out. (i wasnt an equipment ho then lol) and i remember tightening the spikes on sucked!

Spike marks on greens stunk though and i was a horrid golfer lacking any instruction whatsoever. probably why i gave it up for so many years- sheer frustration- wish i had seen the light earlier though - making up for lost time these days.

I've noticed that many have went down the tangent of what is best for the greens, etc. While I agree that is important, at the heart of my question was how it affects competition. I am not very interested in the old debate about which do more damage. That has already been settled in my eyes based on course rules and personal observations from having played when both were the norm.