Greetings from Arkansas

EBZebra

Reaction score
Handicap
30-ish
Hello, everyone. My name is Eric and I'm new to the site.

I stumbled across THP while randomly searching for ball reviews and different swing theories, and I've been reading over the forum for the past few days. I enjoy the camaraderie, humor and positive vibes of this group, which led me to join.

I've encountered a fair amount of jackassery on several other golf boards, but I don't get that feeling here at all. I'm a nice person who likes to have fun without tearing others down, and I like to associate with like-minded folks. Looking forward to doing that here.

I started playing golf while in college about 20 years ago. One of my roommates was a single-digit handicapper who was tall, weighed about 140 dripping wet and could mash it (think Charles Howell). Encouraged by his patience and good nature, we spent the better part of a summer playing and I learned quite a bit.

I've played on and off since then, depending on my jobs and other commitments, and I've never put a serious, sustained effort into improving until recently. I'm mostly self-taught, but I've had several lessons and I watch/read about golf and instruction almost daily. My goal this year, in no specific order, is to play more often, have more fun and break 90. Despite being a big, strong guy, my game off the tee is where I struggle the most, and my short game is pretty decent. I think if I can get my longer clubs somewhat straightened out, I can get to playing bogey golf by the end of the year. Practice and play, right?

Looking forward to sharing and enjoying everyone here. Glad to be here.

Eric

Welcome to THP Eric!

Welcome to THP. Glad your here!

I've encountered a fair amount of jackassery on several other golf boards, but I don't get that feeling here at all. I'm a nice person who likes to have fun without tearing others down, and I like to associate with like-minded folks. Looking forward to doing that here.