Clone Clubs, cheap alternative or waste of time?

Big_E

Playing from the trees
Reaction score
Handicap
N/A
I'm an 18 year old getting into golf, im looking into getting a new set of irons and wedges but i have a relatively low budget as i will be starting at the university of washington next year.

I've been to multiple golf stores and a custom golf club maker, and the custom club maker has the best deals, but he only sells clubs he makes, which use clone heads. specifically, I am interested in integra x-2 extreme irons which are x-22 clones and clones of r-7 hybrids.

My question for you all is are clones a decent choice for a total beginner, or should i save up for a brand name set?

I think there are plenty of cheaper sets out there that are name brands without having to go with clones.

A clone set will probably work for you for a while.

But you may be able to get a great deal on a used set. In fact, it will be even cheaper. For example, instead of getting an x-22 clone, you can get great deals for x-20s or x-18s. And you can pick up used Taylor rescue hybrids for next to nothing. As for drivers, there are so many you can find used for cheap. The only issue is you need to know which ones to get and make sure they fit you and your swing.

E-

You will get a variety of opinions, but my feeling is that clone clubs are fine for a brand new golfer. Brand name clubs are, generally speaking, pretty darn expensive. And considering that you aren't sure yet whether you are even going to stick with the game, there is no reason to spend upwards of $1,000 on a brand new bag of clubs that, ultimately may not suit your game. Of course, the quality of the clone makes a difference. While clones won't be as high of a quality as brand names, some are very serviceable. I don't know about Integra, but someone else might.

Having said that, because of the economy, there are some great deals on both new and used clubs right now.