Fantasy Golf Strategy/Discussion

rickterp

Reaction score
Handicap
17.1 GHIN
So I'm new to the fantasy golf game. I've been an avid fantasy football player; have dabbled in basketball, baseball and even NASCAR over the years. For me, here's what I've picked up on so far with the THP weekly salary cap league:

Winners rule the roost: Since each week is based off earnings, teams with a winner are obviously going to have a good week. Picking a winner is easier said than done. Kudos to everyone who had Bubba winning @ Riviera; I didn't think he'd even make the cut.

Form matters: I tend to find myself watching Euro tour early Saturday and Sunday mornings as I get ready to go to the gym or go play golf. If I hadn't, I would have no clue who Dubuisson, George Coetzee or a whole host of really good but not household name Euro tour players are. I won't say riding a hot hand is the ticket, but guys who are performing at a high level tend appear to be good values early in the season. I'm trying to work that in with a lot of my picks but only to a degree because...

Horses for courses: We hear all the time from pro's that some courses suit their eye. Well, they are much better at golf than I, so I tend to believe them. I haven't found a good statistical repository for this so I tend to believe whatever Golf Channel or other major golf publications are telling me as far as players track records are.

What are your fantasy golf keys and tips? obviously, without giving away your secret for dethroning OttawaGolf :alien:

I suck, no help

I'm a guesser, I have zero idea who's going to do what lol. If I was smart I'd be looking at past histories at courses and looking at stats.

I first look at how everyone is playing lately. Then I look into how they have done on the course in the past years.

Possibly check what the experts say, or vegas odds, however it's easy to overthink it so I'll get a handful of guys I like and go with the gut