Finally broke 80!! Actually able to buy a better game.

Marengo

Reaction score
Handicap
I started playing about 15 years ago in college managing to play about once every month or so. Took off about 13 years and got bit by the golf bug again last summer. Since then, I have lowered my HC to about a 16 from a consistent 40. My previous best was a 12 over 83 but went out this weekend and shot a 7 over 78.

My problem has always stemmed from the tee box. When I first started, I could drive the ball fairly well. Hit it about 245 playing a slice. At least it was consistent. Took a lesson from a bad teacher who tried to change my swing to a more traditional swing instead of working with what I had. Ever since then, I couldnt get off the tee box. Had a wicked duck hook that would get about 10 feet off the ground and about 150 out.
I finally went last week to get fitted and learned a lot about my swing. I used to play a 10.5 supertri. The fitter said that there was absolutely no way I could hit that club with my current swing. Ended up buying a used Ping G15 with 13.5 loft. Kind of like a large 3 wood. Now I have about a 15 yard draw that is consistently around 260. Nice to know that this time it was the arrow and not the indian.
I cannot stress how much the fitting helped. I am going next week to do a iron fitting as well. cant wait to see how that one turns out.

Congrats man. That's fantastic

Congrats now you just have to do it again haha

Good playing, congratulations.

Tapatalk... Loved by me hated by the wife.

Congrats!

Nice! Congrats on your round!

And of course, all teachers are quacks. :D

I started playing about 15 years ago in college managing to play about once every month or so. Took off about 13 years and got bit by the golf bug again last summer. Since then, I have lowered my HC to about a 16 from a consistent 40. My previous best was a 12 over 83 but went out this weekend and shot a 7 over 78.