Is a longer backswing easier to use and remain more consistent when swinging your irons?

Paddy1Putt

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
Convention logic (at least to me) tells you that a short back swing is easier to route into the ball with more consistency, they (being the talking golf heads) use Jon Rahm for this example.

With that said.... I have been working on something for a few months now and it's relaxed arms and a full backswing, with wrist break etc.... It's working for me.

This has been overtime and I seem to be picking up additional yardage as well. Previously I was doing a ridged 3/4 swing now I am taking a more relaxed full swing and initiating the lower body more. What I am finding out is that ground interaction and timing have improved organically. It 'seems' the longer back swing is giving me more time to get my lower body through and in too my left side and striking at the ball at the right time. Where as before with the 3/4 I felt a lot of shots were thinned and I had to rush the swing to get distance. The longer clubs were less impacted by this or so it seemed.

Obviously one size don't fit all, but I find it fascinating that taking a relaxed backswing and chillaxing through the swing is giving me incredible control and power. Obvious like anything in golf there is always a trade off and I find that my woods both driver and 5 wood are negatively (so far ~4 months) have been impacted by this. A lot more variability in my drives. And some even egregious type strikes like tops and thins.

Anyway just wanted to post this topic and see what people felt / thought about the 3/4 or the full backswing... If people have tried both for their stock swing, etc...

YMMV, but I've found a FULL backswing....the lead side lat is stretched, leads to a better transition.
Now, not sure if the means longer backswing or not, but I need to stretch things for consistency.

I found much better consistency when I shortened it up, trying to be more like Rahm.