Question about shaft lengths and what that translates to in club selection

motoo344

Bearded Bandit
Reaction score
Handicap
Hope you guys can follow this.

I have a 23 degree Mashie that had the shaft splinter and I just pulled it out. I have a few extra shafts laying around now and I was thinking of experimenting with it, either throwing in a Kuro Kage or a Fubuki Ax. I have a 19 and 22 degree hybrid so a 23 doesn't really make all that much sense but is there anything I can do to make it play closer to a 5 rather than a 4? I was thinking of cutting the shaft down, will that help, its already at 40 so I was thinking about cutting it down to 39 or 38. I know a 5 irons plays somewhere in that range, maybe closer to 38. Its just an experiment, I find the Mashie easier to hit than my 5 but I am not rushing out to buy a new club so I figure I would frankenstein one lol.

You could get it bent. Not all places, but some places bend hybrids. It is usually more expensive than irons though.

Most 5 irons are around 38". Probably the biggest challenge you would face would be the lower launch potential by shortening the club two inches. Quite possibly you will see noticeable lower flight, which might negate some of the hybrid's advantages and leave you with a club that will not stop on the green.

Hope you guys can follow this.