Soft Stepping Wedges

cornerjunkie

Reaction score
Handicap
I have been playing my MD3 wedges for a few months now and have noticed that I have lost some spin and feel compared to my old wedges. When I ordered them, I decided to go with X100 shafts thinking that I would lower the trajectory a bit. That wasn't really the case. I have the PXI 6.5 shafts in the rest of my irons and I LOVE the way they feel. I would love to have that same feel with my wedges.

Looking at options, reading up on soft stepping wedges had me intrigued because of the precision you can dial in on feel and stiffness. I will be honest and say I do not know much about it, but would love to hear from those that have experience with it. I would like to possibly put some PXI shafts in my wedges, but I am not sure what I should go with. Currently, this is what I was thinking.

8i 7.0 for 50,54,60

9i 6.5 for 50,54,60

Anyone else have any knowledge or experience they can share?

I think from a feel perspective a softer flex shaft might be something you are looking for, but I do not think it will effect spin. Why not just put the PXi 6.5 in your wedges? If you are playing less then full shots with any of those clubs you would be wise to go softer, not stiffer.

I wouldn't recommend it. I think you would be better off going with a wedge shaft over doing what plenty of others have done by "tiger stepping" their wedges. KBS 610 shafts fit exactly what you are trying to do while maintaining the weight of the club

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I think from a feel perspective a softer flex shaft might be something you are looking for, but I do not think it will effect spin. Why not just put the PXi 6.5 in your wedges? If you are playing less then full shots with any of those clubs you would be wise to go softer, not stiffer.