What are the pros/cons of a lighter feeling driver?

Scoots McGee

Reaction score
Handicap
I'm not very experienced with different golf equipment, but I absolutely love the feel of my current R7 CGB Max driver. It feels so much lighter that most other drivers that I have swung(regular R7, Nike SUMO, R11, and a few others).

So my questions are, 1) s it actually THAT much lighter than all the others I've tried, or is it just in my head, and 2) If it is lighter, are there any pros/cons to that?

Some faster swinging players may feel like they need to slow the swing down to hit a lighter diver. I do love the knew Cleveland Superlites though, but I'd get a heavy shaft with it.

Lighter driver makes me feel as though I don't have to swing as hard, however, it is really easy to get the club off line

Tried the superfast 2.0...super light and actually super fast, but not sure if i gained any distance. I almost feel like swinging a heavier club puts a little more muscle behind the ball.

It's important to get the right shaft head combo which keeps the club in balance. The new lighter weight Cleveland drivers offer you three different models which are different in their own right. It's best to demo if possible and if not, make sure you listen to the link below which has tons of good info to help you make an educated decision.
THP Radio – Club Fitting

I think with a lighter driver I'd do a lot of twisting of the club on the downswing. Swing would probably get out of sync because it feels like your not swinging anything.

I think with a lighter driver I'd do a lot of twisting of the club on the downswing. Swing would probably get out of sync because it feels like your not swinging anything.