Thompson Cigars

Thread: Experimenting with driver length

Beginner
    Handicap
    Thanks

Experimenting with driver length

This is my first year playing golf, so I'm still in the learning process to find what works best for me. One of those variables that I just started exploring is driver length. I'm a short golfer at 5'6'' and 32" wrist to floor. My current driver is the TM R9 SuperTri which comes stock at 45.75" and D4 swing weight.

I've been struggling with control off the tee and have been reading older posts on the forum about shortening shaft length to gain more control. I went to GS today to have it cut down to see if it would help. I was planning on going down to 44" and adding a Winn Lite to help gain some of the swing weight back. However, the pro there convinced me to start with just cutting off an inch and keeping the swing weight around D0. He said even an cutting down an inch would make a huge difference.

I went to the range today and I can definitely tell a difference. I'm hitting more consistent shots and feel like I have much more control. However, I'm still hooking a few, and feel like I still may want to go shorter. I know if I go any shorter I'm going to have to add some head weight back, but I'm not too concerned since I can add the weights with this driver.

My question to you guys is, how did you know when you found your optimal length? I've read in several forums that they knew the length was too long because they were inconsistent. On the contrary, how did you know when the length was too short? Did your consistency remain the same, you just start seeing less distance? I'm going to keep it at 44.75" for awhile and see how it goes. If I'm still have consistency problems, I'm considering just going down in 1/4" increments until I find the perfect length. I was just hoping you guys could help me know when I'm there!
    Classic 290 10.5* Driver
    Mashie FW3, FW5 Fairway Woods
    Mashie M3, M4 Hybrids
    Burner 2.0 6-AW Irons