Following through on pitch shots?

sixdoubleo

Reaction score
Total beginner here trying to get the hang of pitch shots. I can hit full swing pitch shots. Basically hit them like my irons and we're good. Where I have trouble are the short ones.

On short half to three-quarter swing pitch shots of 10-25 yards, should I be following through? I find that if I follow through, I get all kinds of weirdness...from balls that travel 3 inches, to fast grounders that fly past the green. I just feel like I have zero control over what is going on if I follow through.

Therefore, I think I have developed what is likely a bad habit. I have found that by not following through, I can get good pitch shots.

Let me describe how I perform my pitch shot. Again, this would be any time I'm executing a 1/2 to 3/4 swing for shorter 10-25yd pitch shots. Usually 56 or 60 degree wedge.

• Ball is played relatively center of stance. Feet close together, left foot slightly back and open. Weight shifted to left side.
  • My hands are very much forward (a good 4-5 inches in front of the ball) and the club is leaning at a very extreme angle, with the face of the wedge nearly vertical against the ball..
  • I lock this wrist hinge throughout the entire swing and never release it.
  • I rotate back 1/2-3/4 swing depending on desired distance, and then just come back DOWN into the back of the ball in sort of a "chop" motion. The club head drives down into the ball, the ball pops up in the air, and the club head just continues down into the ground. I do not swing through the ball. I simply come down, the club stops at the ground and there is no follow through whatsoever.

I know this is wrong (I think?), but it's the only way I've found to have any type of consistency. When I do this, I get very good, consistent pitch shots.