Help with Ping G20 irons with graphite shafts

earlyman

Reaction score
Maastricht, Netherlands but originally from Glasgo
Handicap
Hi all, this is my first post on THP and I'm hoping somebody can help me out or offer some advice with regards to shafts for a new set of Ping G20 irons.

I've recently recovered from a serious back injury (herniated disc L4-L5) which has unfortunately affected my swing speed slightly and fatigue and pain obviously play a much bigger factor during a round of golf. I'm 33 years old, a 24 handicap and I can't say I know my current swing speed but I'd say my numbers are fairly average. Im 5"7-5"8 and my 7 iron carry is about 145-150 yards on average. I'm very disappointed about my back injury as I only started playing golf in earnest last July after playing a little as a junior and I feel have been progressing well and more importantly enjoying myself. I want to get back playing regularly as soon as possible and without the constant pain. I haven't had the chance to be fitted at a local place as I'm an ex-pat living in the Netherlands, I'm originally from Glasgow in Scotland, and over here in Holland they don't seem to know their a**e from their elbow when it comes to fitting I'm afraid. Using Ping's own online Web-Fit tool I was recommended as having my iron shafts shortened by -0.25 and the lie angle flattened by 0.75 degrees, which is the Ping red dot setting. Seems like a good fit for me as my current irons are Callaway Diable Edge with steel stock shafts that are flattened by 1 or 1.5 degrees I think.