trouble reading greens

tvrepairex

Reaction score
Handicap
A lot of courses in this part of the country are switching to the new Mini Verdi Bermuda grass on their greens due to its heat tolerance.I have a problem reading the putts on this type grass versus Bent grass or some of the other greens.The mini verde has a "Camo" look to me with different colors of green and I just can't always "see" the proper line and breaks,Anyone have this problem and can offer any tips?

I'd like to know advice on this as well. Also, how is one to read grain?

I am not an expert by any means, but I look at two things. First, how is the grass growing? It's gotta be leaning one way or another. Then, if I can, I get onto a hill that goes down from the green behind my ball and see how the heck the green slopes. It's been working for me. They say to look at the grass at the hole to see where it's cut neat and where it's cut rough to tell how the graqin goes, but I can't see anything most of the time!

When looking at the grass, darker shades mean you're looking into the grain, while lighter shades means you're looking down with the grain.

Smallville is also correct in that sometimes you can look at the edge of the cup. The ragged side of the cup is the side the grain is growing towards. Every green is affected by grain, just some more so than others.

Some tendencies of grain.

Grows toward the sun, so it could change from morning to evening. Also grows towards where water drains. Look for drains around the green, or low spots on the course/ water hazards.

Yeah, I'd think it has to do with the grain of the green. I've never played on a course with grained greens, at least not that I knew of. I always wondered how much it affected putts.