Rule for when this happens?

sal14m

Reaction score
Handicap
Hit my ball into a bunker, playing partner hits his ball into the same bunker and ball comes to rest touching my ball.
What is the best way to proceed here?
For the record I lifted his ball played mine, raked bunker, and had him drop into bunker in same spot.... Not sure if that was right but it felt like the fairest way to go

Hit my ball into a bunker, playing partner hits his ball into the same bunker and ball comes to rest touching my ball.
For the record I lifted his ball played mine, raked bunker, and had him drop into bunker in same spot.... Not sure if that was right but it felt like the fairest way to go
this is interesting.. Not sure on this one myself..

I'm not a rules expert but here is my guess. The player hitting second should mark their ball, lift, adjust mark out of first players way by lining up on memorable target, first player hits shot, rake bunker, second player adjusts mark back to original spot, second player places ball recreating original lie as closely as possible.

I'm not a rules expert but here is my guess. The player hitting second should mark their ball, lift, adjust mark out of first players way by lining up on memorable target, first player hits shot, rake bunker, second player adjusts mark back to original spot, second player places ball recreating original lie as closely as possible.

I agree with this. You don't have/get to drop the ball but rather attempt to replace the ball in exact same spot without cleaning the ball, etc.

I am like cookie and cpljohnst, I would think you must recreate the original lie as closely as possible.