Financial Management Recommendations

MSB256

Reaction score
Handicap
I need to do better about tracking our finances such as what bills are do, last time they were paid, where we're spending our money, etc...

Does anyone use something like Mint or an app that helps with these types of things?

I am tedious about using Quicken. Have been for years and Microsoft Money prior to that. I've been using one or the other to manage Kelly and I's finances for almost 11 years now, and I can honestly tell you, doing so, helps me and her have a better understanding of our money and we don't argue about money like so many other couples out there.

I go old school on this one. Excel spreadsheet with bills inventoried for beginning and middle of the month, and entries for income. One tab for each month. Simple. Also wholeheartedly agree with JRM re effect of this on marital happiness.

My wife takes care of all our stuff since she is in accounting by trade. She uses Quicken for our home finances.

I go old school on this one. Excel spreadsheet with bills inventoried for beginning and middle of the month, and entries for income. One tab for each month. Simple. Also wholeheartedly agree with JRM re effect of this on marital happiness.

I do the same thing. Its awesome.

Same as Tequila. An excel sheet is more than enough. The tough bit is making sure you keep on top of it. And and the need to be able to slip golf purchases into multiple categories:egyptian:

I have Mint but never really use it, I'm young and my finances are pretty simple so I do most of it in my head when I question something that doesn't look right. Mint does seem very useful though.

I used Mint at one time but I switched to Pageonce and like it a lot better.

I use a spreadsheet as well. Just created a running total as well as budget categories. It works pretty well for me.

Do you bank at Redstone? They offer a free one on their online banking