Rolltide2012

Reaction score
Handicap
Hey guys and gals, I am new to golf and looking for my first set of clubs. Currently I am looking at 2 used sets. The TM tour burners from 2008 and the titlelist 822os.
Both have the stiff flex shafts and are about the same price. Which one of the 2 do you all recommend for a beginner? Thanks in advance and glad to be here

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 2

Welcome to the forum!! I wuold suggest something cheap. My first set were Taylormade 200 steels and would suggest them to anyone starting out. Also I might consider going with a regular shaft at first also.

First Welcome to THP.

Second, I would suggest going to a Golf Galaxy or PGA Superstore or something like that if you have one in your area and tell them you are interested in some clubs....let them get you on the simulator or track man and get your swing speed and measure you for length and lie angle...trying to hit a shaft that's too stiff or too short for you can do more harm than good when starting out.

Thanks for the advise guys! The two sets are for sale locally through craiglist. Both in great shape. Tour burners for 140.00 and the titlelist for 135.00

Thanks for the advise guys! The two sets are for sale locally through craiglist. Both in great shape. Tour burners for 140.00 and the titlelist for 135.00

Those are some decent irons, but if they don't fit you properly they aren't going to perform well. What TripleBogieTim was trying to say was to get measured for irons and then see if the ones you are looking at match that. That way you can get the most from the irons.

Ok I see, thanks. I may swing by a local golf shop and see what they tell me. I have been told by some friends to try and stick to a club with good cavity back. What exactly does a higher cavity do to help beginner golfers?