6 iron or hybrid, hmmm

Germerican

AngryYankee
Reaction score
Handicap
23.8 USGA
I have been pondering this decision for a couple months now and have yet to make my mind up. Should I stick with my 6 iron, or drop it for the hybrid. In hindsight I should have went with the hybrid/iron combo set instead of all irons. The hybrid will be either the Baffler XL or Bio Cell, depending on how they feel in the demo cages.

What say you THP? Keep it or drop it?

Since you said you were actively taking lessons in an effort to get better, I would not change anything right now. Work with what you have until the swing is repeatable.

I have a similar decision to make soon and will likely lean hybrid. I just don't lose anything by going hybrid and I gain consistency.

It is a good discussion, as 6 irons start to take on 5 irons lofts they can become harder to hit.

Good discussion... for me I find my 165yd distance being a little bit more about precision... what in da hell does that mean?, ok If I'm 165 yds away from the hole, I would rather hit a 6 iron because of presicion. If I'm 250 yds away and I'm looking for a preferred yardage I prefer a 165yd 6 hybrid to make SURE I hit the ball 165 somewhere in the fairway.

Then again, this is just me. I feel my hybrids are more long iron / distance enhancements. 6 irons are right in the middle, they might not be considered a scoring iron but they are not a long iron either. New sets bring 6 irons with shaft and loft of a normal 5 irons so if that's the case with your set it might make sense.

I actually added a 3H last year, but this year after hitting my new(to me) CB3s, i am trying to find the rare 3 iron to the set after how well i hit the 4iron .

Hybrids have usually been a hate/love relationship for me, more hate than love, i wish i hit them as well as you describe, seems best to go with what works for your game.