Transitioning to career from college?

lvgolfer

Reaction score
Handicap
GHIN 6.6
In the future May 2016, I will most likely have graduated college and hopefully have a job lined up with my business degree. I know most say that college is about getting the degree, but I feel like so far I have been inadequately prepared for my future I rarely have to study to get the same grades I did in high school. I guess I am worried that I will get into a job and be like a oh crap, what am I doing here. If you guys would be so kind could you share your experiences with this good or bad so I can understand more about what I need to prepare myself for.

Thanks,
Dakota

Do your best to be as prepared as possible for every day of work.

I had to learn really early on as a steam and heat transfer engineer (I have a degree in political science), that the work day does not end when I get home. I spent many nights reading about paper machine process and power plant operations. I read my competitions literature more than my own.

People will help you out and see you as the new guy. Unless you make more money then them, then you're on your own.

Find yourself an internship and see if you like it. Sometimes you can work your way into a full time job from the internship (that's how ours work). Or the flip side you find out that's what you don't want to do and go in a different direction.

I would say that there a good many post degree careers are a lot of learning on the job anyway. Experience and know how comes from practical application.

I couldn't give too much other advice on the subject other than don't put too much pressure on yourself and enjoy the process. Play as hard as you work, and allow time for both. You only get one life, and the things that you do now ultimately become your memories down the road so be present.

Too much focus on the future makes the present a thing of the past.