(Re-)building my game: my recipe and update

GoldenBuff

slow horse
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
When I started playing I picked up a Ping Cadence TR Shea H putter because 1) I liked the look and 2) I liked the weight for my stroke tempo. Now a few months later I continue to struggle with consistent center strikes and find myself coming up short over and over. I feel like I am tilting the putter out or in trying to keep the putter in more of a straight back and through motion. I feel like the putter wants to sit on the heel and swing around. Now my putting woes are going to be far more on me than any putter, but I started to wonder if the putter was not right for my stroke. I looked at the Ping website and the Shea H is designed for a strong arc. Is is possible I am fighting my putter and could benefit looking at other putters? Thanks for any thoughts.

BTW, my preference is to NOT buy a new putter if possible. This morning I will do my own testing with some older putters we have: an old 1970 Ping H-Blade (nice feel but too light) and a TM Rosa Imola 8 (not confidence inspiring but doesn't seem to fight my stroke either). Putting on the carpet this morning, my initial reaction is that I wish I could have the simple straight back feel and visual line of the H-Blade with the patient cadence of the Shea H.

Last edited:
Are you pulling your putts by chance? I am not expert by any means, but I would think a putter designed for a strong arc stroke is weighted for an easier toe release to help bring the blade to square at impact.