Simulator Practice Routine?

lanechanger

Reaction score
Handicap
Hello,

Wanted to know if there was a good practice routine available to a new golfer who has access to a simulator but not to a range/putting area. Is it even worth it to practice chipping and putting on simulators?

Here's my experience. I started playing early last year, and setup an area in the house to practice. By the time I actually hit the range for the first time, my ball striking was really bad. I had developed some bad habits hitting at home, where I could not see true ball flight. So I would just caution against that. Now, starting out with lessons would be really good, but you can set yourself back if you try to do things too much in the beginning, without assistance. At least that was my experience.

Thank you. I get lessons when I can, guess when I can't I'll just go and hit irons until it feels comfortable.

Welcome to THP! Not everyone will agree with me, but I do not like the idea of hitting any shots except for shots from real natural grass, and outdoors. I hate sims, I hate mats and I hate nets. You need to see the ball flight to really know what is happening with your shots.

If you have a school or a factory or anythings with a wide open area, gets some balls and a shag bag and hit. I use to do all of my practicing for years behind our local Jr. High school (with their permission of course) during none school hours. I'd hit 100/200 balls and then go pick them up almost every evening when I was much younger.

Welcome to THP! Not everyone will agree with me, but I do not like the idea of hitting any shots except for shots from real natural grass, and outdoors. I hate sims, I hate mats and I hate nets. You need to see the ball flight to really know what is happening with your shots.

I agree 100%. You need to see what the ball flight is doing.

Hello,