What order to upgrade your clubs?

tkpeterson12

Reaction score
Handicap
I bought a TopFlite box set when I started playing golf in September and am very eager to upgrade my clubs. That said, I'm not sure I can bring myself to replace everything all at once.

The question is in what order do you suggest upgrading the club types (driver, woods, irons/hybrids, wedges & putter)?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Good question. My personal preference would be to upgrade driver first. The assumption is that you would see improvement off the tee, more FIR's, more distance and would be able to use the other clubs you're comfortable with closer to the hole. I'd then upgrade irons second.

Good question. My personal preference would be to upgrade driver first. The assumption is that you would see improvement off the tee, more FIR's, more distance and would be able to use the other clubs you're comfortable with closer to the hole. I'd then upgrade irons second.
As good a way as any and better than most!

When I first upgraded my 'cheap' set, I got 3 clubs all at once. I did the driver, a putter and a sand wedge. The wedge was my favorite club when I was taking my lessons and it gave me confidence when learning. The other irons/clubs got replaced over that year.

I bought a TopFlite box set when I started playing golf in September and am very eager to upgrade my clubs. That said, I'm not sure I can bring myself to replace everything all at once.

The question is in what order do you suggest upgrading the club types (driver, woods, irons/hybrids, wedges & putter)?

It's fairly easy to find good deals on clubs that are just a year or two old at a big discount. A goof friend who is a bogey golfer was asking me what to buy to replace a cheap set of irons he was playing for 30 years. I steered him towards a set of Wislon Ci11's and he found a new set 5-PW on eBay for $150. He also upgraded to a Callaway driver and 3 wood from a couple years ago and got both for $130.