Hello from relative newbie

92Esquire

Reaction score
Handicap
6.02*10^23
I'm a mid-30's guy living in Knoxville, TN. I'm pretty new to golf, although I played a bit in Jr. High/High School. Lemme explain...

Some of my earliest memories are chasing a wiffle ball around with some type of iron with my grandparents on a trip to Arizona when I was about 5. I've been told that when I got back, I wanted to golf all the time with my dad. My dad was a member of a country club in northern MN, but soon after he started taking me out, another member pitched a fit and got the board to enact a "no kids" rule on the course. My dad quit the club.

When I was in Jr. High, we lived about 5 miles from the local Muni, and my parents would buy a Jr. Season pass and a locker every summer. They'd send me off on my bike to head out to the golf club, where I played with my dad's Wilson blades, dove in the lake for balls on the 5th hole, and caddied a few times. I stopped playing about the time I got a car, and the last time I'd held a club was my senior year of high school, when some friends and I snuck out to play the Muni at 5:30 in the morning before they opened after graduation.

This past summer, my wife and I were driving by a local golf shop, and they were having a tent sale. She asked me if it wasn't time for me to take up golf for my career. I laughed and said "no way". I've avoided career golf like the plague - in Florida it was disgustingly rampant and I wasn't going to do that. The following Monday I called a good friend who I know golfs to tell him the story and get a laugh. He said "Don't laugh, I'm playing in a tournament with the General Manager tomorrow." So I bought clubs.

It turned out that I really liked playing, as did my wife. We both bought sets, got lessons, and joined a practice facility. I probably went 3 times a week, and putted at home almost every night. My wife didn't have as much time to practice, but she still came out most weekends.