Getting Back Into The Sport...Suggestions?

NickerBopper

Reaction score
Handicap
Hello all! Long time reader first time late poster.

Here's the deal. I started golfing in 2006 when I was a sophomore in high school. I played for a couple years until I got to college, which the sport then became too expensive to keep up with while having to worry about tuition, rent, etc. Anyways, 6 years and a masters degree later :D, I now have some resources to return to playing.

When I started, I purchased a cheap set of Dunlop clubs, one of the cheap starter sets, which I am still using. I'm not very good, especially with all the time I've taken off.

Long story short, I'm considering an upgrade in equipment. Any help or tips would be appreciated. Would you all recommend an upgrade right now, or stick with what I have? I'm open to any feedback. Any certain brands to look for? Certain ball types?

I've considered going to a sporting goods store for a fitting, but am hesitant to do so since I am just starting to get back into the game.

As I said, just looking for any kind of opinion. I've read through several forums, and this seems to be the most active and helpful bunch. Thanks everyone!

First off, welcome to THP.
If the swing is repeatable (good or bad), I would say you could upgrade if you would like to.
There is lots of great info here on the latest and greatest that might help steer you in the right direction.

Welcome to THP.

Do some shopping around, if you can get a fitting thrown in great.

Welcome. I would start with a free fitting or at least one where the cost will applied to a purchase just to get an idea of where you stand with some of today's stuff.

Hit some new models Maybe some sets that are a year or two old ( found in GolfSmith or somewhere of the like) to see if there is really that big of difference to you.

Most of all enjoy the process and the search for new and shiny is always fun.

SaA