Breaking Down Swing Weight

JB

Follow @THPGolf on Social Media
Albatross 2024 Club
Staff member
Reaction score
We get a lot of questions about swing weight vs actual weight and how swing weight changes. To break it down, we took a driver and used quarters in different spots on the entire club to show you how it impacts the swing weight.

Last edited:
Great explanations James! I was actually surprised that the SW only went up 1 point when substituting the 75 gram for 55 gram shaft. Was expecting at least 2 points.

Very thorough explanation. I liked the various scenarios, and drilling home the part about shaft profile affecting results as well is important. Makes me rethink the online SW calculators that only ask shaft weight but don’t pay attention to the profile.

I’m a huge novice when it comes to club building details, so I’m really enjoying this series. Everything is broken down neatly, and the Club Lab pops.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Very thorough explanation. I liked the various scenarios, and drilling home the part about shaft profile affecting results as well is important. Makes me rethink the online SW calculators that only ask shaft weight but don’t pay attention to the profile.

I’m a huge novice when it comes to club building details, so I’m really enjoying this series. Everything is broken down neatly, and the Club Lab pops.

Those are good to get a ballpark estimate, but you're right, many other variables need to be considered.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

There really is no way to account for the weight profile of a shaft without having it actually measured. The online estimators will get close but shouldn't be relied on as anything more than a starting point.

I use a customized spreadsheet (with 2 different swingweight algorithms available) to convert actual measurements into a SW value. However the most accurate would be a proper digital scale.