what is your par 3 course situation ?

DG_1234

Reaction score
Handicap
Are there par 3 courses nearby and available for you to play ?
I started playing golf at a par 3 course and still do sometimes play there. It's Golden Gate Park Golf Course, nine holes ranging from 100 to about 190 yards, a place within the confines of a large city park. This course gets lots of year round play from kids, beginners, senior men and women, low handicaps trying to sharpen their iron and wedge games, anybody wanting a relaxing 1 hour to 1.5 hour round etc..
For several reasons I think par 3 courses are one of the best type facilities the game has to offer. There should be more of them, but I guess the economics of owning/operating one does not inspire the necessary financial investment...
If you play a par 3 course please post about it here to this thread, including what you like (or don't like) about the experience.

I know of two within driving distance of where I live.

One is about 40 minutes up the Interstate in one of the far suburbs. It's nice enough for what it is but it has 9 holes of anywhere from 95 to 180 yards plus a full-sized driving range squeezed into less than 20 acres of property. Just tight, tight, tight. Miss a shot by 30 yards and you'll either bean someone on an adjacent hole or lose a ball in the trees (surrounding the course) or pond (smack dab in the middle of the property). Just claustrophobic, which is pity because it has a good variety of holes, a little contouring to some of the greens and a bit of rolling change of elevation.

The other is on a flood plain closer in to town. Never played there but holes are probably between 75-125 yards and the greens are just 10-yard diameter pushed-up circles to get them above the flood level. The "turf" in between the tees and greens is more mud than grass. Nothing remotely appealing about it to me.

That's it. Haven't played a Par 3 course in 20 years and don't expect to in the next 20. Can't really see the appeal.