Finally- Almost Quit. Thanks Dad.

braffle8

Reaction score
I am 25 years old and an absolute beginner. I played sports growing up and finished my athletic "career" as a college soccer player. Have played golf here and there growing up, mostly on crappy nine hole courses with my buddies in high school, and was very unsuccessful. Started playing again about a month ago with the executives in my company. These guys are much older ( and richer) and have been playing for years. Needless to say they expected as a very successful college athlete that I will be able to at least hit the ball on the course and have some fun. This was not the case. I shot something like 135 for 18 and was frustrated throughout the whole experience. Being the competitive person I am, I decided the next day to go to Golf Galaxy and pick up a set of used irons and a driver.

Throughout the past month, I have decided that I can not self teach myself, and that it would be smart to hire an instructor to take some lessons from. After finding a qualified instructor, I have taken lessons twice a week for about the last month. Through my enthusiasm to learn I have also gotten my father back into being interested in golf. He is not very good but shoots around 90-95 and enjoys being out on the course, especially with me. About once a week I get out to the range with my dad, and we each hit a bucket of balls. Through hitting about 3000 balls over the past month, I have not gotten any better, I actually believe that I have gotten increasingly worse, and much more frustrated. I hit my driver well which I attribute to my natural athletic talents (240-265 and straight), but I have not been able to get an iron in the air.