Diane

Reaction score
I played as a teenager, then only played once or twice a year if that until 10 years ago when I started playing regularly. I just had no interest in playing during that time and then one day a friend asked me to go to the range with him and that was that. Have you ever taken a leave of absence from golf? Did it last days, weeks, months or even years? Do you regret your time away? What brought you back?

I didn't play for the first time until I was 15. Played pretty regular while in HS, even played on the team my senior year. Kept playing, probably 12 rounds a year or so since we could only really play from about May-September, until 2002 when I moved to Texas. Didn't play again until this year, in February. Completely hooked again! :clapp:

Never took a break longer than a month. I did that when I had two months of rounds in the 70's until one afternoon I played a really easy course with some friends and was sitting at 99 coming down the par 5 18th. I hit my 101 shot sideways into a creek along the edge of the fairway and snatched my clubs off the cart. I told my friends I was walking in and they would find my clubs on eBay the next day. I thought better of the eBay thing, but didn't touch a club for a month!

I started playing around the age of 13-14. Played just about every weekend with my aunts and uncles then took a break of about 10 years before I started playing once or twice a year. I got back into it last season and really started playing again this season.

Only time I have taken a LOA is because of Injuries, thank god I wasn't playing well before the injury or I would have missed it.

Before my wife said she wanted to take up golf last summer, I hadn't played in five years. Didn't have the time and had other things to do. Now we are both into it and she's doing pretty well for her second year.