Was Jack a Slow Golfer?

Golf Ghost

Reaction score
The '86 Master's replay was on last night in celebration of Jack's birthday. I noticed something though, he took a lot of time over the ball, especially over putts. Now I didn't follow golf while Jack was still playing and wasn't alive for him in his prime or even his second coming.

So for those who were able to watch Jack, was he a slow player?

Took his time over the ball, but walked fast to make up for it. That's what I heard in several interviews

Took his time over the ball, but walked fast to make up for it. That's what I heard in several interviews

I have heard the same thing....he was very deliberate over the ball.....but not slow in decision making or even really reading putts....he just didn't pull the trigger to he was ready.

yeah, i used to be pretty slow, but then i started playing golf instead of screwing around.

back to the topic, i've never heard anybody else say he was a slow player, and i've never noticed it myself (and i've seen quite a bit of him playing).

He talks about it in his book. His take on it was that he walked fast and had his mind made up while the other guys were hitting, but took a while to get set-up and pull the trigger. He doesn't think he's slow, but we know how that works.

In truth, I have no idea.

He talks about it in his book. His take on it was that he walked fast and had his mind made up while the other guys were hitting, but took a while to get set-up and pull the trigger. He doesn't think he's slow, but we know how that works.

In truth, I have no idea.

Very interesting. I've never really heard of Jack being called a slow player. I haven't really seen any of him playing though, so I can't comment.

I don't recall him being particularly slow, but I don't recall a lot from those days.
Today, one player hits, and then the caddy-golfer chat starts, and the fiddling and club changes and whatnot. Then they set up and hit.