Age of taking the game more serious

Owen

Love/Hate Relationship
Reaction score
Handicap
How old were you guys when you first started getting into golf? Not just playing, but really taking it seriously.

I actually started playing around 2005 (age 21), but only played like 3 times a year with a cheap $80 set of clubs from Walmart. It wasn't until 2010 (age 26) that I started really getting into the game and bought some decent clubs. I really wish I would have been more interested in the game as a kid. I feel like I'm really getting started too late.

Sorry if this topic has already been discussed.

I started playing in the fall of 97 as a business tool to close sales, I was 33. After a year or so in 98 or 99 I got the bug pretty badly and started practicing 4 or f days a week and took a series of 6 lessons from the range pro. (best thing I ever did) I still take the game very seriously and put 100% into every shot I hit. I also still practice a few days a week and absolutely still love the game.

Last edited:
I didn't start taking it serious till I was in my early 30s. I started golfing when I was age 10. I played a lot when I was young. But never really learned how to play. I got involved with some fellow Military guys that really put me on the right track. Ever since I have been obsessed....and it's the best thing in the world. I'm nearing 50 now. Also, my wife and son play as well so it really gives us all time together on the course and range.... GOlf is a long term sport. You are still young

I started with lessons in 1971 and was serious day one. My folks took up the game in their mid 40 to early 40's and enjoyed it so much they wanted me to go in right, so it all started with lessons. Through the years my intensity for the game has had peaks and valleys and possibly played more these last couple years than ever before.