New Iron purchase - what factors to consider?

David81

Reaction score
After being a very occassional golfer for many years, I started playing golf somewhat
regularly 2 years ago and I'm about to purchase my 3rd set of new irons in that time
period. I got a basic general fitting done for the first set, I deviated slightly from
the fitter's recommendation and got a set of MX300s with the XP R300 shaft, whilst I hit
them beautifully, I got way too much backspin - so that was mistake #1. Next up were my
Callys, I got fitted for these too, but out on the course I think I'm a little more
aggressive than when I was fitted, plus the head/shaft weight combination isn't quite
right for me ... so I often have days where if I'm not careful I can hook them all day long
- which drives me nuts ... so mistake #2. I'm now looking at a set of X Hot Pro's with PXi 6.0,
the weight of this combo seems to be perfect for me, nice trajectory and they seem to be easy
enough to hit straight or put a little fade on and quite difficult to hook with the stiffer shaft.
One thing I can't test is turf interaction, my home course tends to be a little wet, so hopefully
the XHPs don't dig too much (the RXTs are fine on this front)? Are there any other factors
I should be thinking about before I pull the trigger?

Have you tried anything else other than the Cally X-Hot Pros? Dont limit yourself to one set of irons - try a selection and see what comes out the best for you.

I would also recommend trying different shafts in the irons as well. The difference between my RocketBladez with standard shafts and the KBS Tour 90 shafts I have is like night and day!

^^^This.... try as many diiferent iron heads with shaft combos that you like the looks of and see which best fits your game. Good Luck.