Golf Store Fitting - Your Experience

cwill

Reaction score
Handicap
I think it is time for me to step up and finally get some new irons, including proper fitting. I've been playing a set of TM 360 irons now for about 5 years that I had bought from a buddy when he got new sticks. I'm interested to hear anyone's experience with some of the golf stores out there - here in Omaha we have Austad's Golf, Golf Galaxy, Golf ETC, and Golf USA among others I believe. Overall experience? staff knowledge? meet your expectations? clubs perform as desired? have you returned for additional club fittings? Or should I try to find a local course club pro that does fitting? Basically any and all of your thoughts are welcome.

*I apologize if a similar thread has been posted in the past. I did a forum search and didn't find anything.

It's a hit and miss on where you go.You need to visit each place and talk to the folks there and see who seems to be the most knowledgeable.I understand you might not know what to look for,but you can tell if someone really knows their stuff or is just blowing smoke.

GG posted a great deal from TaylorMade Performance Labs a few weeks ago. If you contact them in October you get a coupon for half off what I think would be the best possible fitting out there. (I don't know how to post the link, lol). It would mean a trip to one of their labs, but they really give you the info needed.

TM Performance Labs Discount

I think the coupon is good for a year, but has to be purchased this month.

You got that right. TMPL is giving away 50% for the month. Yet you can buy a fitting in a certificate for half price and use it anytime during the calendar year. A truly exceptional deal.