Transporting/Shipping Humidor & Cigars

wedstuntpuller

Reaction score
Handicap
Well as some of you may (or may not) know, I am moving to Hawaii in March from Virginia. I have a humidor with (give or take) 75 cigars in it, a few dozen of the cuban variety, and a lot of nice dominicans... I am wondering just how I am going to get my cigars over there in good condition? I am taking a government flight so its not an option to put them in my luggage or anything... they would have to be shipped. I have never tried to ship them before. I have a medium size travel case that could hold possibly 25-30 cigars and keep them tight, but dont know if they would still be good by the time they got there? I would appreciate any insight or help that some of you with more experience can provide, thanks!

Craig and Gummi will be able to help you more on this one. No matter what im sure plenty of bubble wrap and a humidipack is in order.

TGM hit the nail on the head. I actually just wrapped my entire Humi in bubble wrap about. About 4 layers. Then put 2 layers in the humi itself. Dropped a humi pack in there and when they arrived, they were absolutely fine.

oh so they do have something that you can pack them with that will keep them? I have shipped cigars before (it was only a handful though, i think 8 of them) from Dubai to the U.S. and just kept them in their metal tubes... but they were brand new and sealed.

TGM hit the nail on the head. I actually just wrapped my entire Humi in bubble wrap about. About 4 layers. Then put 2 layers in the humi itself. Dropped a humi pack in there and when they arrived, they were absolutely fine.

So they weren't damaged at all from rolling around inside the humidor or anything? or did you pack something in there to keep them held tight in place? I have a lot of empty space in my humidor, and since filling it up with quality cigars isn't a fiscal option right now, I am trying to figure out how to do it properly.