Changing my whole approach to a round of golf.

You think for the high handicapper the chances of you smashing a 3wood 170+ straight and onto the green are 5% at best. Very good chance you are going to spay it miles left or right, find a bunker of just fluff it all together. When the chance does present itself and you feel confident with not much trouble about fair enough have a pop but if go for glory every time more often then not its not going to work.

Since I started playing conservative, it's amazing how much money I've saved on lost golf balls!

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk 4

I went back to the bag, got my 8 iron, and took advantage of my very high pitching comfort level, hitting a nice 3/4 pitch swing about 105, leaving me right in the middle, and 35 to go to the front/middle of the green (the safe spot to land it). I chipped up and the ball released nicely, settling about 12 feet from the hole, and I 2-putted for bogie. This stood out in stark contrast to my typical approach, which is to hit my tee shot into the marsh, then hit another one into the creek bed, where I'm looking to get up and down from a terrible lie and a very difficult shot in its own right, for double. This typically ends up as 6...if I double I feel like I escaped.

Bogie is better!

EDIT: I'm talking about the 3rd at Champion's Run, if anyone cares...

. I have advocated for smarter, safer, etc.. type of play in this thread and in others too and I am all for the logic of it all and do it often. But as I also said I think a happy medium needs to be reached and this may be one of those places to me. Given similar very high risk with a fw or even a long iron (3 or4 perhaps) I would "probably" also lay up and play it to my strengths and what the hole offers me. But from 150? would be a shot on the green that I feel I should be making or should be at least close enough to avoid big trouble. I wont always be successful at it of course but none the less should be attempting to make it.