Zen and the Simple Art of Golf

Good.Shepherd

Reaction score
Handicap
Disclaimer: this will be a longer post and a more full discussion of the topic. I'd handle it more incrementally, but many of these ideas function as a woven cord and do not really function so well in isolation. Please avoid the thread if longer discussions bother you as I have no desire to upset anyone.

I'm not a scratch golfer. In fact, over the years, I've moved around between a bogey and double bogey handicap. I've also had long periods off--years--and have restarted three times. And in those restarts, I've tried almost every different approach you can imagine. I've done the "buy a full bag of new, expensive, custom tailored gear" approach. I've tried the "Get tons of lessons from lots of different coaches" method. I've tried the self-taught, Bubba ball approach.

And I love going to the course as a single and getting paired with random people, because I've seen so many different approaches to the game and so many different attitudes and training methods that it's been a rich 15 years or so of observation.

This last restart for me, however, was the most important. Because of the recession and other events, I was off for about 4 years. It was painful, but I just didn't need all the gear and expense and frustration of previous methods. My passion for the game drew me back in, but this time, I was going to have some rules. I stood up and looked at all the previous approaches I had been talked into taking before and I said, 'This is crazy. There's no need for this. I'm going to make it simple or I'm not going to do it."

Something amazing happened--at least for me. This time in, I had so much less frustration. I shaved 10 shots off my average round in about 10 rounds over the winter (and the associated training time). I'd never progressed that quickly. And I had never progressed with so little anxiety, either.