Newbie - What clubs

sbt27

Reaction score
Handicap
I'd say i've played golf around 20-25 times in my life if you include the driving range, par 3 courses and full courses so i'm still a complete novice.

I'd like to take it up a bit more regularly and I'm looking to purchase a set of Irons (probably 4-sw) and I am looking for a bit of advice as to what ones could be good.

I'm pretty sporty (play a lot of tennis) and so far I think I've been able to play to a pretty decent standard considering my experience or lack of, so with that in mind I don't think I would require the most extreme of game improvement irons but nonetheless I'd imagine I would need one in the game improvement category.

I tried a friends burner plus and was surprised at how well I played with them. I live in the uk and I would probably not want to spend much more than the £300 mark. I'm happy to buy ones that are brand new or second hand (if that means i can get a better set)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

i think the answer is "some clubs." your first setup isn't going to be your last, and you will likely replace everything relatively quickly. Once you know what *you* like in a club, and have figured out enough of your game to make sense of the subtle differences, you will be able to read through reviews and hit different clubs to find the ones you like the most. Then after that you will probably improve even more and replace stuff all over again. Hopefully that time with the assistance of a professional fitter. :D

I get what you're saying and I think its the same in tennis. I do actually have a very cheap set of clubs (so dunlop ones) and i could definitely notice the difference between them and the TM burner plus 2.0. The burner plus felt way more solid, with a much bigger sweetspot, more power and better feel.