Having a golf coach to break 90

ericdmd

Reaction score
Handicap
I started playing about 10 years ago (at age 38). Took several lessons from different pros and played a lot for about 6 years. I have had a tough time finding someone to consistently take lessons with, so I practiced a lot on the range. I was able to get to the point I was able to hit in low 90’s on my home course. However when I went to another course things usually didn’t go so well.
I have not played as much over the last few years because of frustration with my game.
We have a new pro at our local club who seems to be very good.
He offers lessons and my wife and son are both taking lessons from him and really enjoy working with him.
I spoke with him yesterday about my dilemma. He says that he will work as “my coach” every week with lessons at range and on videotape and then every other week he will do playing lessons on the course. Price $3000 for the entire season, I assume since it is warm here until the end of October that is what he means. He says that he can have me playing in 80’s consistently and even 70’s here and there.
Has anyone done anything like this before? Does it sound crazy?
I was thinking about doing a package of 4 lessons for $300 and if that works out paying the rest and going from there. Any thoughts?

Honestly that sounds a little steep price wise but that could just be me. One of the biggest thing about lessons is what you do after them too so that the information sticks.

That is a lot of $$. Does he guarantee those scores or your money back? :)

Sounds really steep. If you are consistently in the low 90's short game and putting will get you in the 80's. I would pay for a packaged of lessons and build in that.

It sounds like one of those things where if it works, it was worth the money. If it doesn't work, then it isn't. I'm of the mindset that everythingi is negotiable! So work a deal!