Trying to Break 100

Status
Not open for further replies.
Finally did it! Broke 100 for the first time since I started learning to golf last May!

Had a very frustrating round yesterday. Playing a relatively easy muni course (only 5800 yards, 113 slope), I thought I was on my way after I shot a 47 on the front 9. Then I shot a 56 on the back with three big blowup holes, and was pretty upset the whole day.

Then I played a nicer but more difficult course today, and not only broke 100, but shot a 94! The exciting/disappointing thing about today's round is that my putting was beyond horrendous. 46 putts. If I could have putt even decently, I could've even broken 90 today. So it's pretty dang clear where I'm going to have to focus my time on: both putting as well as getting my approach shot closer so that I don't have as many crazy 20-30 foot putts to deal with.

fileid=91820&filename=1401055821&maxheight=207&maxwidth=800

After getting so frustrated and upset with myself over the past 7-8 months, this payoff feels so damn worth it. Finally feeling like all the work and practice I've been putting in has paid off. Now the goal is to keep it in the 90's consistently, improve my putting and go for breaking 90!

Congrats on breaking 100 for the first time.

Something to think about on your putting-

Did you hit more GIRs?

Was your proximity to the hole farther than normal?

Congrats on breaking 100 for the first time.

Something to think about on your putting-

Did you hit more GIRs?

Was your proximity to the hole farther than normal?

Thanks! I did hit more GIRS than I normally do, and yes my proximity to the hole was quite far. I definitely had a lot of problems getting those lag putts close.

Thanks! I did hit more GIRS than I normally do, and yes my proximity to the hole was quite far. I definitely had a lot of problems getting those lag putts close.